tarot sun  
Tarot Readings, Classes, Articles & Books  

  The Twenty-Two Major Cards:

  1. The Magician
  2. The High Priestess
  3. The Empress
  4. The Emperor
  5. The Heirophant
  6. The Lovers
  7. The Chariot
  8. Strength
  9. The Hermit
  10. Fortune
  11. Justice
  12. The Hanged Man
  13. Death
  14. Temperance
  15. The Devil
  16. The Tower
  17. The Star
  18. The Moon
  19. The Sun
  20. Judgment
  21. The World
    0. The Fool













"Power from our Mother Moon,
flow through me from you,
to use these cards and use them true."

The Tarot reading quickly transports a seeker of self-knowledge to intensely private places. Like no other oracle, Tarot commingles the flames of magic, emotion, wisdom, and visual stimulation. For centuries these cards have been used for divination, meditation, and personal reflection.

  • The deck consists of 78 symbolic playing cards divided between 22 major cards (Major Trump) and 56 minor cards (Lessor Trump).
  • The minor cards are divided between four suits, Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles. Each suit represents one of the four elements, fire, water, air, and earth.
  • Each major arcana card links with an astrological sign or planet, archetype, myth, and symbolic allegory.

The following is a list of major cards and key word interpretation.

  • The Magician: Intellect, strength of mind and the power of will.
  • The High Priestess: Spiritual mastery over material conflicts and the wisdom of finding balance within.
  • The Empress: The catalysts of the forces of love, productivity, creativity, and happiness.
  • The Emperor: Authority, control and mastery over earthly matters such as finances.
  • The Heirophant: Philosophical thought, insightful communication, and spiritual realities.
  • The Lovers: The archetypal Adam and Eve, father-mother, yang-yin, male-female, positive-negative energy.
  • The Chariot: Advancement, travel, self-control, and the quest to unify opposites.
  • Strength: Strength to overcome trials; consciously seeking to awaken higher consciousness.
  • The Hermit: Insightful communication, deliberate effort to actualize potential.
  • Fortune: The spinning of the wheel of life bringing good luck, success, and fortune.
  • Justice: Understanding partnerships, commitments, and the processes of arbitration.
  • The Hanged Man: Sacred visions, seeking the truth of the soul.
  • Death: Transformation, death, rebirth, new opportunities, intense communications,
  • Temperance: Moderation in activities, right livelihood, developing self-mastery.
  • The Devil: Oppression, manipulation, or negativity.
  • The Tower: The potential for an upset or struggle.
  • The Star: Hope, optimism, or getting clarity.
  • The Moon: The subconscious, dreams, memories, the intuition, the feminine.
  • The Sun: The logical mind, conscious creative efforts, positive, masculine energy.
  • Judgment: Unpredictable events, a new calling, judgment on some level.
  • The World: Finding resolutions, worldliness.
  • The Fool: Unconventional lifestyles, living in the now, innocent awareness.

More Tarot Information

PO Box 133, Bodega, CA
Tel: (707) 876 3511


Copyright 2003-2008 Cybermystic